2023 NJ School and District Sustainability Awards Announced

on Oct 24, 2023

Award recipients from Long Branch Public School District, Jersey City Public Schools and High Bridge School District

Today, Sustainable Jersey announced the recipients of the 2023 Sustainable Jersey for Schools awards which celebrate the outstanding schools and school districts setting the standard for sustainability excellence.

Representatives accepted their awards center stage at an event held during the New Jersey School Boards Association Workshop 2023 in Atlantic City. In addition to the special award winners, 163 schools that achieved Sustainable Jersey for Schools certification and 17 schools that earned a Digital Schools Star in 2023 were recognized (2023 Sustainable Jersey for Schools Certified Schools). This year’s special award winners are:


For schools certified with the highest number of points in their category: elementary, middle or high school. From Long Branch Public School District (Monmouth County):

• George L. Catrambone Elementary School

• Long Branch Middle School

• Long Branch High School



For a district that has achieved substantial budgetary savings through implementation of Sustainable Jersey for Schools actions:

• Jersey City Public Schools (Hudson County)



For municipal and school green teams working together to advance sustainability:

• High Bridge School District and High Bridge Borough (Hunterdon County)


“Congratulations to the 2023 awards winners. These awards recognize the outstanding contributions of the top schools and school districts participating in Sustainable Jersey for Schools. We celebrate your hard work, innovative thinking and determined pursuit of sustainability excellence,” said Randall Solomon, the executive director of Sustainable Jersey.

To date, 1,146 of New Jersey’s schools have demonstrated their leadership and commitment to sustainability by registering with the Sustainable Jersey for Schools certification program. Award winners are selected from the schools that are certified in the designated award year.